Skip to content

Frankie

December 12, 2010

Frankie Drawing: ©2006 Lisa Ullrich

Frankie, my friend’s German Shepherd, was a wonderful, friendly, sweet dog.  He really loved playing catch with his ball and frisbee.  Although, he did have a stubborn streak of never bringing the ball to you.   He would drop it about 2 feet away and expect you to go get it.  If you waited long enough, he would bring it a little bit closer, but never all the way.

I loved him so much.   Sadly, Frankie passed away from Lymphoma this past summer.  We will all miss him.

I drew this picture of Frankie on September 17, 2006.  It was from a photo taken just a week or two earlier when my friend’s brought their new baby home from the hospital.  You can see by his smile how happy he was to welcome a new member into his family to play with and love.

I had only tried my hand at drawing a few times prior to this over the span of two years.  I had not taken art classes, other than in grammar school, so I REALLY impressed myself with this drawing.  Not only could I see a German Shepherd, but I also could see Frankie’s personality shining through.  I achieved his likeness almost to a tee.  I’m still not sure how I did this, but I’m very proud of this drawing.  It’s only the size of a baseball card, but it took me 5 hours plus a little tweaking here and there to complete it.

I’ve had a hard time parting with this drawing, as it is dear to my heart.  I’m going to give it to my friend’s as a keepsake in remembrance of their dog, Frankie.  Rest in peace baby boy.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2010 8:31 pm

    That’s a wonderfull drawing with a touching story behind it. :) Well done.

  2. December 13, 2010 2:44 pm

    Thank you Holly. I appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

