Skip to content

Artistic Wednesday butterfly drawing WIP

January 5, 2011

Every Wednesday is Artistic Wednesday. Weekly progress updates for anything related to art.  Today, I’m posting a work in progress butterfly drawing.

Usually, I find reference images in the WetCanvas Reference Image Library or someplace similar.  Artists post images here allowing free use to other artists without violating any copyrights.

I open the image on my computer and draw freehand.  I improvise as I go, so my drawings are never exactly like the reference image.

I’ve spent about a half hour so far, using Prismacolor Premier Colored Pencils in Black and True Green.  Check back next Wednesday to see my progress on this drawing.

Butterfly Drawing ©2011 Lisa Ullrich

WetCanvas Reference Image courtesy of Ceiliog

Leave a Reply

