Skip to content

Artistic Wednesday butterfly drawing WIP – week 3

February 16, 2011

Butterfly Drawing ©2011 Lisa Ullrich

WetCanvas Reference Image courtesy of Ceiliog

Every Wednesday is Artistic Wednesday. Weekly progress updates for anything related to art.  Today, I’m posting a work in progress butterfly drawing.  I’m using Prismacolor Premier Colored Pencils.  After 2 hours of creative time, I have the picture above.

Next, I need to decide on the background.  Backgrounds intimidate me.  I’m hesitant a lot of times because I can completely ruin a drawing with the background.

For this drawing, I was thinking of adding a flower above the butterfly and possibly a green/blue blended background.  I could even add a stone ground to make it look more “garden-like”.

If you have any suggestions, please feel free to post comments.  I would love to hear them!

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2011 2:35 pm

    This is really pretty & has such clever detail.

    Thank you for visiting my blog recently. Great to connect up with you & view your lovely artwork.

    Kat :-)

    • February 17, 2011 11:49 am

      Thank you. I love meeting other artists!

  2. February 16, 2011 3:12 pm

    That is GORGEOUS! I like it just the way it is sans background. The butterfly pops right out at you. Awesome work!!

    • February 17, 2011 11:50 am

      Thank you!

  3. February 16, 2011 5:10 pm

    i really like the butterfly. it doesn’t really need a background, i like the striking contrast of the white background.

    • February 17, 2011 11:51 am

      Thank you! Two votes for no background, but I think a flower is needed.

Leave a Reply

