Skip to content

Squirrely…WIP

March 13, 2011

Squirrely – ©March 2011, Lisa Ullrich

Every Sunday is Creative Sunday, posts about anything creative.  I started this drawing over a year ago.  I was very discouraged because this dog has very squirrely fur and it’s half white.  Drawing white fur is not easy at all.  I decided I would have at it today and see what I came up with.

I spent about 1.5 hours drawing and probably had a half hour worth of work previously done.  I need to put in some more work because I’m not completely satisfied with it yet.  His facial structure needs a bit more work.

What do you find difficult to draw?  What is the easiest for you to draw?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2011 5:31 am

    I really like that sketch, and I’m really impressed that you spent so much time on it. I have a hard time focusing on one thing long enough to really take a sketch that far. The little nagging voice in my head pesters me that there’s too much to do, the laundry and cleaning and kids and etc are all waiting for me.

    • March 15, 2011 7:39 pm

      Melissa, Thank you! I know that nagging voice well. I hear my voice before I start something, which makes me put off things I want to do and do things I should be doing. Once I begin doing something I want to do, I can stay focused.

  2. March 18, 2011 7:33 am

    I liked him the moment I saw him. I’m glad you dug him out to work on further and I hope you get him to the point where you’re satisfied with him.
    I’ve tried a couple of animals, but not many. Although I want to sketch diffferent things I keep going back to faces. Recently I tried same male faces instead of female. I’ll probably post my efforts sometime soon.

    • March 18, 2011 7:49 pm

      Louise…thanks for your comment. It’s funny, we all have our preferences. I love drawing animals, but faces are difficult for me. Flowers are also quite easy for me. I guess the more we try to work on the subjects that are difficult, the better we will get. Good luck and looking forward to your face postings!!

  3. March 20, 2011 6:15 pm

    It’s a nice drawing as is. It’s looking a bit abstract (maybe funky is a better word). Also black and white seems to be working very well for this piece.

    • March 23, 2011 7:31 pm

      Thanks for the comment Evelyn. It is a bit funky on the left side. I can’t get it to look how I would like it to look. I’ve given it a rest and I’ll go back to it later.

Leave a Reply

