Skip to content

Drawing class

January 17, 2012

Self-Portrait Take 1 – ©January 2012, Lisa Ullrich

I signed up for Drawing 1 at the local college. Last night was the first class. The teacher had us draw a self-portrait & this took about 20 minutes.

I’ve never been good at drawing people, especially myself! This looks nothing like me & I gained 100 lbs.!! It was fun though. She collected them, so I took a picture with my phone. I apologize for the bad picture.

Have you ever tried to draw a self-portrait? How did yours turn out?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2012 8:18 am

    I have a hard time drawing people, including myself, too. I got done with one self portrait and realized that I was suffering from depression! Because I was concentrating on the drawing and not what I looked like, my face relaxed into an extremely sad expression. But hang in there! Drawing well comes with practice and I think that at the end of the course you will be amazed at how far you have come!

  2. January 17, 2012 12:33 pm

    Hi Lisa! Congratulations on joining a drawing class and your finished self-portrait. It is wonderful. I like the attention you put to details that identify your creation as you, such as the shape of your nose and lips and the way your hair curves around your face. I like the hints of light and shade playing on your cheeks and the different shades of color you are intentional in giving to your eyes. I can see you took time on this drawing. Well done!

    “I have never been good at drawing people”. This line got my attention. My questions for you are: “What is the definition of a good drawing?”, “Who set that definition for you to use on your drawings?”. In the book “Drawing with the right side of the brain” the author says that everyone can draw, all drawings are beautiful, there are no right or wrong drawings, just the beauty of the process and the enjoyment of the results. The problem comes when well-intentioned people judge our drawings based on the belief that all drawings must be like a photograph of the subject or they are not good, and we believe it.

    What am I trying to say? Enjoy the process, play with it and share your drawings simply because you enjoyed so much working on them.

    Imperio
    myhappyhats.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

