Skip to content

Self-portraits from drawing 1 class

September 30, 2012

A bit overdue, but I’m posting my self-portraits from my Drawing 1 class so you can see my improvement throughout the class.  It was very challenging and the hardest thing for me to draw is a nose…

Self-Portrait Take 2 – ©March 5, 2012, Lisa Ullrich

Take 2 of self-portrait, after learning a few things.  I had lots of trouble with the nose.  I don’t know how many times I erased it and tried again to even get it to look like this!

Self-Portrait Take 3 – ©March 7, 2012, Lisa Ullrich

An improvement…my instructor encouraged me to draw my glasses in as well.  I was really intimidated about my glasses.  Extremely worried I would ruin the entire drawing, I worked through my apprehensions, drew it and was pleasantly surprised!

Alter-Ego Self-Portrait – ©March 18, 2012, Lisa Ullrich

The alter-ego self-portrait was a lot of fun.  It allowed for some creativity.  Getting better!  Practice makes perfect (as they say)!

Eye Self-Portrait – ©April 18, 2012, Lisa Ullrich

I think I pretty much nailed this….I love this drawing.  It’s nice to concentrate on a small piece, being able to spend enough time on it to really get into the details.

Personality Self-Portrait – ©May 6, 2012, Lisa Ullrich

Final project was a personality self-portrait.  People who knew us well, provided adjectives to describe our personalities and we created self-portraits (with or without our faces) from the adjectives.  This was a fun project and I had many words to choose from.  I chose…confined, shy, introvert, artist, analytical and detail-oriented.  Confined inside a mirror,  my hand over my face signifies my shyness.  The easel and the drawing book displays artist.  The to-do list on the bulletin board shows my analytical and detail-oriented sides.  I recently had this drawing custom framed and it looks gorgeous.  Now I just need to paint and rearrange furniture so I can hang it!

What is something you have tried that was challenging?  Did you keep up with it until you conquered the challenge?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2012 8:27 am

    Great work! So, so glad to be partcipating in Flying Lessons with so many wonderful and talented women!

  2. October 9, 2012 9:05 am

    Keahn, Thanks so much! Yes, I’m very happy to be involved with the group as well. Nice inspiration!!

  3. October 29, 2012 10:15 am

    Wow! I love how you can see your self portrait transformation! And what a fun challenge!

    • October 29, 2012 10:24 am

      Thanks, Kristen! It was fun & intimidating! People are hard subjects for me.

      • October 29, 2012 1:09 pm

        Especially when they are supposed to look like someone specific! Then people have something to compare it to.

      • October 29, 2012 1:19 pm

        Isn’t that the truth! Pressure!! :-)

      • October 29, 2012 9:19 pm

        Serves me right for saying that, someone just asked me about doing Ricky Martin! Double POOP!

Leave a Reply

